:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

For Brandi.
2005-05-05 at 3:51 p.m.

I've never felt so entirely strange in all of my life. I've just gotten back from bringing Stephanie home, but... before that...

Okay, I've explained somewhat that Brandi is not having a good time with his parents. I didn't go into the details of how much they've grounded him for taking a guy to the dance, or how many times they've told him he's going to hell and can never be saved (never minding the fact that he already -is-). Let's just say things are bad.

His dad made him go to school today. Yesterday, he stayed home sick. It was the first day they hadn't had a family feud over the whole ordeal, mostly because he felt like crap and didn't talk much. Today, he still felt really bad, but he was forced to come to school.

Actually, he walked out. His dad made him go to school, but he walked there himself. In his sandals. And it's really far away.

*sigh*

Anyway. Our friend Katie had offered him a place to stay should he ever get kicked out of his house. Well, he's taking her up on the offer prematurely, but I understand. He's gonna crash at her house over the weekend.

But he needed a ride to go get his things, and to get to her house. That's where I came in.

We talked pretty well on the way home, but... as we got to his house and he went inside... the longer he took to come back out (his mom was home), the more worried I was for him. Not for his safety, just...for him.

Anyone who knows Brandi would say that he's a bouncy, Tigger-like, fun guy to be around. When he came outside (and when his mom was done yelling at him as he walked to my car), he wasn't that person. He was wide-eyed and his cheeks were flushed in anger, and... this is bad.

I just... after I took him to Katie's house and made sure he got inside safely, I cried. I can't take seeing my friends in pain like this. I've never seen a friend of mine in pain like this. And it tore me up. I'm glad I was able to help him get away from that hell-hole. I don't care if it's wrong for me to have helped him leave home for a while. They know where he's going.

I was helping my friend keep his sanity (or whatever he has in its place) and his heart intact.

Please, pray for him. Or something. Wish good thoughts at him. He needs to know that there are people out there who, maybe even if you don't condone his "lifestyle," still care about him as a person. No 17-year-old deserves to be treated like this. He's a good kid. He's one of the sweetest guys I've ever met, and I'm just... God, it's awful.

Made me all the more appreciative of my parents. I don't know what would happen if I were to be "in trouble" in some way. Pregnant, gay, drunk, on drugs, whatever...

My parents love me even when I mess up. Yes, they'd be angry, and yes, I'd lose trust in some of those situations, but I'd deserve that much. They wouldn't tell me I'm going to hell, and they wouldn't rip the spark plugs out of my car.

They'd take me home. They'd take care of me. That's what they do.

I'm not perfect, and neither are they, but we do try. I love my parents, and I'm so grateful for the relationship I have with them.

Sigh. Anyway.


Math went better today. I kind of sort of understood it better. I'm going to work on the review and the homework, and make sure that I get it all before the test tomorrow. I'll see you guys later.

<-Ghost->


5 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass