:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

This is too bad to be Tru
2004-01-18 at 12:55 p.m.

So I'm really happy today. Yeah. Not for me, or for anything I've done. Nah. I'm happy for somebody else.

One of my favorite couples at church has announced that they're 13 weeks pregnant. Yes. Both of them. Hee.

They'd been having a horribly hard time trying to get pregnant. She'd experienced more than one miscarriage, and the whole thing was just...bad. So we're all really really happy for them. They went and had a sonogram Wednesday, and they got to see the baby, all moving about and stuff.

So sweet. So happy. Good day.


In other news, I don't have school Monday. Booyah. Martin Luther King Jr. died so I could have a day of school off. I know that's not true, and I sure as heck don't believe it, but it does kinda seem like the message we're sending out. But hey: Both the white AND the blacks get a day off. Double-booyah.

I'm considering trying to get more Biology work done. I should, just to live up to the rep that The Bio. Teacher has now bestowed upon me. He likes me. The hardest class in the school, they say, and the most intelligent teacher, they say, and I'm one of the favored ones.

Again: So happy.


Other than that, there isn't much to report. I am reading this really...interesting book called St. Michael's Scales. All about this kid's pursuit of suicide because he thinks he's responsible for the death of his twin when they were babies.

He wants to die a saint, though... it's just weird. But it's pretty good. His mom went crazy, but I'm starting to wonder if perhaps the twist will be that he's the crazy one locked up in Hellman's House, not his mom.

Hmm. Dunno. I'm a good guesser, but I just don't know yet.


Anyone else watch Tru Calling? Yeah, I do sometimes, when I remember that it exists on Thursdays. I'm not really impressed. But I don't hate the show.

I hate the writers. There is so much that could be explored, and fun things to do, but... there is no story in this show. They need an arc. Right now, they just have this formula:

  1. Tru wakes up and knocks something off her bedside table

  2. Tru talks to her brother, he is skeptical about her powers, OR Tru and Lindsay talk about something sub-plot-ish that will only last for that episode. Sometimes both.

  3. Tru goes to work. Jokes with Davis. Marco 2.0 brings in a dead body, explains briefly what happened.

  4. Tru walks down a big long tunnel that's scary and all and finds the body later and it says: A) "Help me!" B) "Saaaaave me!" or C) "I need your help!"

  5. Tru goes back in time for a day. Wakes up again, knocks same thing off of her bedside table. Ooo.

  6. Tru goes through the process of tracking down the person who died, and with the help of many flashbacks, "figures out" who the perpetrator of the murder must be.

  7. Incredibly long story short, it's not that guy. With 15 minutes to go, Tru realizes she's wrong, and run run runs to find the REAL perpetrator, stop him/her in the act, and save the day. YAY!

  8. Tru talks to Harrison or Meredith about the end of the day of how she doesn't help the dead people, they help her, and her mother DIED BEFORE HER TIME.

Thank you. That is your formula. See? The writers don't even do THAT well! They can't write! I could write this show. I would like to be a writer for a TV show. I think it'd be fun. At least I know what sounds cheesy and forced and what sounds real.

Sigh. I want this show to be good. I want a new set of writers to take the idea and RUN with it. Or at least give a story that can be told over the whole season, however long it will last, and not just bitty sub-plots that are solved within the hour's time.

This show depresses me. Eliza Dushku rocks, and the premise rocks, but the writers SUCK.

Thank you.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass