:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

A cale of two.... cities.
2004-08-08 at 8:40 a.m.

Oh. Huh. I guess I missed out on my own 500th entry special extravaganza.

'cause, um, this'll be my 554th.

Did I even celebrate? I'm not sure if I did. Huh. Oh well. *gets out dusty noise-makers* "Whoooo!"

Alright, that's enough of that.


I had a freaky dream last night. I was hanging out with a friend from school for like a week... but it was weird.

And Dave Navarro has made his second appearance in my dreams this week. I mean, yeesh. C'mon, dude, once, I understand.

But two in a week, that's getting near stalker-dom. But does that make me the stalker? Or him. Clearly I didn't really ask him to come visit me in my dreams.

Hm.

I must ponder on this.


I'm reading Oliver Twist. Nope, not for school. I wish it were for school.

But no, instead, first we have to discuss Things Fall Apart, quite possibly one of the most depressing books I've ever read.

Bad stuff happens to this African dude. Then, um, more bad stuff happens. He kills a guy, he kills another guy and gets kicked out, he beats his wives, he's a pain in the butt to the new village, and then white people take over all their land.

And then he hangs himself.

WHEEEE! That was SO FUN! Grumble.

It was a pretty good book, to be fair, but yeesh!

And whenever our History class gets to the French Revolution, we're going to be reading A Tale of Two Cities. Urgh.

Don't get me wrong, I loves Dickens. He's cynical and witty, and I loves it! But...we already read A Tale of Two Cities. Like, last year.

Reading it again doesn't really bother me. I liked it, and I'm sure it'll make more sense the second time through, but... there are people in the class who are whining about it.

But only half of last year's English I Pre-AP classes read it. Wanna know why?

Because they found out through our class that the book was just too difficult for freshman. So they read A Christmas Carol instead, leaving us first-time-through-ers to be the only ones next year who had read The Tale. Of Cities. Two, in fact.

Anyway. I enjoyed it, and I'm not opposed to reading it again. And I certainly don't want it to be "If you read it last year, then you read this book, if you didn't, then you can read it this year."

I don't want to read a separate book. And besides: Only a few of us actually read the book. A certain few people (Read: most) just read the SparkNotes or CliffNotes on it, and, uh, no wonder they didn't get it.

Sigh.

I'll let you know more as the situation develops. And I'll find something more interesting to talk about, too.

Adios para ahora. Voy a la iglesia.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass