:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Cotton Candy's alright, but OotP isn't
2003-07-04 at 12:32 a.m.

We went to the horse races again! And I came back 11 bucks richer than I was! Woopie! I even spent money buying myself food and stuff.

I bet on one called Victory Dawn...which got me like $8.50. Spiked Punch didn't do anything useful...despite having a cool name.

But on the last race, I had won a couple, so I was just gonna sit back and have some fun. And there was one called Dimmit County. Now... as my parents will tell you, I have an attraction to bad words. So what better than a horse whose name sounds like one?

I mean, just imagine if you will: You're standing there. Your horse is pounding around the track. You stand and yell, "RUN FASTER, DIMMIT!" And everyone stops and stares at you. Mothers cover their children's ears, in fear of what you might say next.

Doesn't that sound fun? You betcha! So I put down a lil money on that. Not my money of course. That'd be illegal. And then I could have strawberry schnapps. But... by the start of the race, Dimmit had 38-1 odds. Didn't look likely.

He got second. And I bet for show. So, uh... I made $11. Hoorah, dimmit!

Hee.


I'm *this* close to writing my entry about Harry Potter.

I'm somewhere in the vicinity of page 750, which means I have about 120 left to go.

And I feel exactly the same as I did when I started it. I'm probably going to come back in a few days and be sappy, sobby, and repentant for what I'm about to say, but here's my take on it at the moment:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix is like a marshmallow. Or cotton candy. More like cotton candy.

It's entertaining and addicting, it feels good to read (I'm not going to eat it,) but it lacks any substance at all.

I'm coming away from this book, every time I put it down, feeling exactly the same as I was when I first picked it up. Except a little more tired, and I have the feeling that I just read a lot of words.

It's not even that funny this time around. All the people I loved are gone. Harry's a butthead. Hermione's just plain annoying rather than being the cool nerdy girl I could relate to... and Ron's just there.

I mean... Fred and George are gone! I loved Fred and George! I mean... blah!?

But then there is the side of this that I know what it's like to have a teacher watching you like a hawk...especially one who hates you. Even though everyone swears they DON'T hate you, they just want you to do your best. But that's not exactly Professor Umbridge. That's more Snape-ish. Who I still love.

Alan Rickman's sessy. And I actually like Snape. I really hate Harry completely. I hate that he likes that snivelling little cry-baby Cho Chang, who's only trying to date him because he's her closest link to that dude who died in the last book, who she really liked. This is also spurring off of my ability to relate to Hermione, but dangit! Harry/Hermione 4eva!!!

*ahem* That did not just happen. That did NOT just happen. No. No no no.

That was just me imitating a shipper. Yeah. *whimper*

It's late, I'm tired. Lemme 'lone.

Oh...and I think Draco's gay. Have we EVER seen him with a girlfriend? Nope. And he taunts Harry and Ron a wee bit too much. *strokes chin thoughtfully* Come to think of it, Ron hasn't had his eyes out for any girl this book either.

Heh. I'm not insinuating that I'd like for that to happen or anything... nah.... I'm just sayin'...

I really do think Draco's a poof though. Be a fitting end for him, I think. Not that... oh never mind.

Anyway... I've still got 120 pages left. Maybe Draco'll hook up with some chick, and then my theory'll just be shot down the plumbing.

And maybe something "interesting" will happen. Though I highly doubt that anything interesting that happens in the last 120 pages will make up for the 750 pages of nothingness that I've been put through. If she could SAY it all in those few pages, then why bother writing all that other crap?

No character development, other than Harry's head mysteriously finding its way up his own butt. But I don't know if that counts as development, or just the fact that she got bored and decided to make someone be highly annoying all throughout. And who better than the star? Whom we must see every scene!

I don't think my opinion of J.K. Rowling has improved much at all. But I'll probably still read the next ones. Maybe. I'll look it over whenever the next one comes out.

When I'm THIRTY.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass