:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

It's less like a filter and more like a "everything"ter
2003-11-24 at 3:17 p.m.

I love when I get chances to show off my smarts online. I'm a sucker for quizzes in general, which must be obvious, judging by my "Quizzes" page.

But alas, I also love the educational quizzes every now and then, even though I'm normally horrible at them.

However, I found a list of some really, really long words (and the people at Dictionary.com are snarky about some), and some just cracked me up.

Ahahahem:

  • pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis: Defined as "a factitious word alleged to mean 'a lung disease caused by the inhalation of very fine silica dust' but occurring chiefly as an instance of a very long word". Hee!

  • Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch: A village in Wales (gak)

  • honorificabilitudinitatibus: Which appears in Shakespeare's "Love's Labour's Lost"

In general, I like long words. They make me laugh. Because I can pronounce some of them, and I never get tired of seeing people's surprised, albeit annoyed, faces.


In other news, the dreaded filter has returned to plague this computer yet again, because, as it turns out, Stephanie has a strange fascination with googling terms with 'spanking' in them, and, um...

Well, nasty sites were appearing in the History bin because of it. She googles innocent phrases though. It's very strange.

I, however, am affected adversely to this. I've had a problem with what I do on the internet before, and I don't care what people's views on some of the stuff is, all I know is that it went against what my parents wanted, and I don't like that.

I love my parents. I'm glad I have their trust again, and I don't want to do things that would destroy that. But when I saw that Steph had kinda been falling into the same camp, I freaked. I get these cold shivers of guilt, and my stomach turns all up in knots. I'm still not feeling 100%.

But, I'm glad in a way that the filter's back on the computer. I guess it's kind of a security check for me too. I'm alright with freedom nowadays, but... still. It's better.

However, it also adds this little check of guilt for visiting ANY site with a naughty word on it. Because, um, it blocks, well, everything. I have a mixture of frustration and happiness here, it's kind of strange.

But, Dad gave me the pass so I can unblock any site I want, in theory. I tried on one, it didn't work, but I guess that's just as well. But it keeps a record of every site visited, and keeps track of every single word that it found that's questionable, even if it wasn't bad enough to get blocked.

That's dang scary! I mean... I mentioned a sex video in my last entry, and it popped me down on that list because I said "sex." And, look, I'm probably gonna ban myself from my own diary with this entry! I swear, as long as I don't mention lesbians...

Well crap. Anyway... it's a bit unnerving. Because... I didn't visit any horrible sites today. But it sure looks like I did! That helps me feel very good. Oh yes.

Insert eye roll here.

Oh well. Yeah. Anyway... consider this as a plea to keep diaryland clean so poor little girls like me with filters on their computers can read your entries.

As it is, I have to log in a wonky way, because now that the login screen says something about naughty toolbars, the WeBlocker filter blocks it automatically.

Grrr. It's a help and a handicap.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass