:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

La la la, first day back from fall break
2004-10-11 at 4:01 p.m.

Happy Columbus Day! Wheeee! America was discovered for the third time (at LEAST) today! Woopie! Party noises!


Today was pretty awesome, considering that it was my first day back from a week off. I had to get up at 6:20, and despite that, I still seemed to be pretty awake in school. It was nice.

We had fun in History, because I love my teacher and we did a fun group assignment.

And, in English, it actually wasn't that bad. Because we started watching a movie. And while watching this movie, I noticed something about my teacher.

This movie was called Not Without My Daughter, and it was your standard Lifetime "Men Are Evil" Channel movie, involving an Iranian husband who takes his wife and child to Iran to "visit" his family, and is then sucked back into the culture and Islam turns him into a wife-beating misogynist who forces his family to stay there.

That's as far as we got. And, it seems that My English Teacher really, really, really seems to be stuck on the whole "mistreatment of women" schtick.

We read Things Fall Apart, a book about an African culture wherein the man is the strongest in the family, and women are to be beaten and dominated.

We read Antigone, a book about a girl who was killed by the king because she decided to break a law and do what she thought was her purpose, serving the gods, her higher masters.

We read My Forbidden Face, a book about the oppression of women under the Taliban's evil, evil rule.

And now this movie. Ergh. I'm sure The Girl With a Pearl Earring has some amount of wife-abusing in it too.

Oh, and in all the plays we've read, the wives have died due to the actions of the King in some manner or another.

She's not even a cool feminist. She's just boring and stuck on this message.

Abuse is bad, mmmkay?


Dad's going to get Lasik (sp?) on Friday. That's going to be weird. It's been a really, really long time since I've seen him without glasses. I guess it'll be like seeing him without a beard, only this time I'm not like, 5, so it won't be scary.

It'll just be new.

But new is okay. New is good. It'll be good for him. He's having a lot of trouble now, and it'll be good to have it all fixed.

So, yay Lasik!


I need to start reading my new book. Of course, it would be really nice if my teacher didn't think I was SO great that I would have read it over the break.

She actually asked me that in the hall this morning on the way to class. I stopped, and I explained that, no, I hadn't begun reading it, because it was the break, and we got it on the weekend, and my friend was over.

Her response was just a shrug, a "disappointed in you" look and, "I just thought you might."

I told my friend G that, and he was in disbelief. He's a VERY smart kid that she practically ignores in my class. I was like, "Yeah... but it's alright for you at least. She probably doesn't even think you can read."

That was great. Laughs were shared.


I got America (the Book), by the Daily Show team.

And it was good.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass