:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Poor Kitty
2003-06-27 at 9:35 p.m.

Yet another post about our new cat...and believe me when I say, this one's more important than the others.

I feel like such an idiot. I really should've remembered this about white cats with blue eyes. I mean, I used to be heavily into animal-learning, and I read this EVERYWHERE...and yet, it just seeped into the back of my mind. Until yesterday.

But yesterday, I thought that it was white cats with blue eyes that had a tendency to go blind. I was close.

They're deaf. It's in the genes. Something about the pigmenting in the skin affecting the eyes which offsets the ears or somethin or other.

Fact is, most of 'em are deaf. The ones with two different colored eyes are less likely to be so, but... uh... Harmony is.

I knew something was off when I would walk into my room, close the door behind me, and she wouldn't stir. She'd turn around, see me, and look visibly surprised to see me there. Like, "Whoah! Where'd you come from?"

But I didn't think anything about it. Until today. When mom went into Stephanie's room and called for Harm, looking around, and declaring that she must've gotten out of the room.

A few minutes later, she found her asleep, and realized that she didn't hear her. That was a little unsettling. And it got my mind to working. Just about a day and half too late.

She fell asleep in mom's lap, and we clapped, snapped, yelled... nothing. She's deaf as a doorknob.

And we don't know what to do. We don't want to give her up. She's the sweetest thing since... uh...sweet sliced bread, and dang cute too. But it's dangerous to have her.

We have a doggie door that our cats use to get in and out of the house with, and we can't let Harm go outside. She wouldn't be able to hear cars, dogs, anything coming at her, and that could be deadly. I think our solution for now is to keep her in a seperate room until one or all of us can look after her. Make sure she doesn't leave.

But this'll be weird. Wonder if there's a support group...

<-Ghost->

Song: Song For The Deaf-Queens of the Stone Age

Quote:

Willow: *gets out of bed, and looks at Buffy* Morning

Buffy: *smiles* Morning

*Both look surprised as no sound comes out*

Willow: *tries again* Morning?

Buffy: *clears her throat and tries, looks panicked to Willow* Willow. Can you hear me?

Willow: *shakes head* No! *grabs her ears* I've gone deaf!

-Hush


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass