:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

It's all gonna burn.
2003-10-28 at 5:39 p.m.

Scratch that "I will survive" thing from this morning. And scratch it hard. Because today was un.bear.uh.bull.

I am suddenly so very glad that I don't have any truly sharp implements with me in my Geography class.

Oh, don't go slapping your heads and groaning about "yet another school entry." Please? I'll be good, I swear.

Aaanyway, The Geography Teacher from Planet Dendrophilia (because she goes WAY past tree-hugging), decided to take a good half or even a bit more than half, of our time together (1.5 hours altogether), to spout her opinions about the environment.

We started with talking about Russia, and how the Aral Sea is shrinking, and suddenly were moved into the Discussion Group.

Imagine how startled I was when I found out that about 99.99bar percent of my class are deadset against anything that would, y'know, snap a twig in a forest.

I swear, the five or so of us that didn't give a hoo-ha about 24 species of fish over in RUSSIA going extinct.

Ever hear the saying: "There's more fish in the sea," lady?

We all piped up, in a fruitless attempt to sway those with their arms planted firmly around tree trunks, and their heads planted firmly up their own butts, but we were shot down.

The teacher mocked US.

Poor little beavers. We cut down the wood that they were just gnawing to...gnaw on.

"Oh, but they use the wood to build their homes!"

Yeah, and? So do we.

"But the rate at which we're cutting down the forests overrides the rate that they-"

Yeah, well, there are more of us, aren't there?

Argh. I was grateful for the chance to not have to take notes for a really long time, but I was so tired of hearing this stuff by the end of the class period.

I wanted to smack her. A lot.

I do care about animals, don't get me wrong. I truly do. I love animals!

But my point was, we can't have a bleeding heart for every species that gets a little messed up because of what we do.

We're above them. Those in charge let those not in charge know to either "move it or lose it." And some have moved, while others lose.

And besides... the deforestation, depletion of the ozone, whatever that stuff is... I honestly don't believe in any of it.

I mean, the earth survived for their supposed MILLIONS of years, without trees, and hey, it'll survive again.

I agree with my dad on this, that God, or whoever you believe put resources on earth, put just enough for us to actually use as RESOURCES, and when those are gone?

We will be too.

Resources, folks. They aren't "museums." They aren't made for "Ooh, lookit that! That's pretty."

Okay. I'm better now.

Ugh.

<-Ghost->

Quote: "It's aaalll gonna buuurrrn." -Meghan at school in a skit

Episode: Pangs. Grr.

Music: Hey Pretty-Poe


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass