:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Fun Philosophy with Hair
2003-04-24 at 4:23 p.m.

People never cease to amaze me. I walk by these people every day of my life, talking with some of them, acknowledging others with a simple bob of the head, and we know each other, but never actually KNOW each other. It's just the way it goes.

But, hack all of your hair off, and walk down the hall trying to blend in with the wall next to you, and suddenly everyone notices you. Those you've known but never talked to, those you've talked to and never known, and those that you'd rather stay away from...all suddenly want to be best friends because, hey! You got a haircut!

Even teachers. The rejects, the losers, the popular priss-ants, and the cooler ones that very rarely exist these days. And then your friends.

But everyone else notices first. Why? Because they don't know you. They know your locker, they know your clothes, they know your shoes, they know your freckles and they know your hair and glasses, but they don't know you.

They'll never know you.

But those that do know you, have talked to you, share your opinions, and have flat-out sat in comfy silence with you don't notice a thing until they hear others talking about it. Or until you paint a large neon sign pointing at it that says, "LOOK! New HAIR!", but that's beside the point.

Those that know YOU don't need to see your hair to talk to you. They don't need to see something different to have the incentive to speak up and chat. They just do. Once they get past that barrier...looks hold nothing with them. You could very well dye your hair neon blue, and yes, they would notice, but... a haircut, a new shirt, new shoes... if you're trying to impress them, it's not going to work. Because they've seen past it.

This is what I've finally grasped. I don't know what made it click, but... simply being around Scott and Blake and David...all of those guys... I got a new shirt, they didn't notice until somebody else noticed and mentioned it. They just treated me like normal. And...I was hurt at first, thinking they just didn't care.

But now I know they care about more than just my hair or my clothes...and I can't stop loving them for that.

Thanks guys...I can't really say much other than... you rock.

<-A Very Happy Ghost->

Songs~:~

Coal~Stupid Girl

Nerf Herder~Vivian

Blink 182~Dammit

Quote~:~ Ok, there's a scene from Gone I had in mind, but seeing as there's no words in it... She hacks off her hair. And here's some other quotage:

Anya: Oh, I get it, I understand... You think I'm fat!

Spike: What?

Anya: Well it's either that or the haircut

Spike: Ridiculous, the do's quite fetching

Anya: Oh, so you LIKE the haircut.

Spike: *quickly* Love it.


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass