:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

I sat on my SATs
2003-04-07 at 4:57 p.m.

Ergh. This is what I get for going back to school today. Lots of fun little tests. Not. SATs (not college, just... private school evaluation tests, public schools have em, here they're called TAAS, no clue what YOUR state might call 'em, so I'm just staying broad here)

Bonus though, when Teach was splitting up the tables (she only wanted three to a table...no cheating!) I got seperated from my table. I HATE my table. The prima-bitca sits there, so...*bleegh* But I got relocated to James' and Scott's table, and it's next to Carter, Prather, and Warwick's. And across from David. It's just a good seat.

I wore my Titanic shirt...god, people at school are SLOW. It took them till history (period before lunch) to finally grasp why "Titanic Swim Team" was funny. I think I mighta blown their brains.

Anyway... back to the topic I've chosen to rant about today. SAT's.

What are they supposed to be grading, anyway? Our ability to fill in teensy little bubbles? It's sure as heck not grading us on anything intellectual; have you seen those questions? It's like:

"Mutual is another word for:"

A: Fork

B:11 1/2

C: a jar of almonds

D: identical

Even if you were a third year 8th grader with nothing that even closely resembles an IQ, if you were even attempting, you could probably figure that one out. *sigh*

On a tougher note, the reading comprehension bits are...well, tougher. They give you a page chock-full of useless info about, say, volcanoes (AHA! They snuck school in there after all. Crap.) and then they ask you completely unrelated questions about it. Confused? Me too.

Take, for example, the volcanoes story. I spend a few minutes reading facts about volcanoes, and get to questions like:

In the sentence "...volcanoes emit black smoke and rains of horrendous frogs..." what was the author's intent?

A: To entertain

B: To show you that horsies are purple

C: He was on drugs

D: None of the above, you're an idiot

Ok...does any of that make sense to you? Me neither. So I just said C on all of them.

I'm kidding, maybe, but seriously, these "intent" questions are complete crap. How am I supposed to know what the author meant if it's not in the frickin' sentence?

His INTENT is what he SAID, dagnabbit! If it's not in the story, then he didn't mean it, and that's that.

Yeesh. Stupid stupid tests.

Ah, well, I had fun today. We get to eat snacks and hang out when we're done. Cause thinking makes us hungry. Heck, breathing makes us hungry. We're growing teens ya know.

<-Ghost->

Chreeestmas~Simple Plan ( doesn't actually have a real title, metinks)

Quote: (ok, more of a scene, but I like it, and yes, I cheated, but it applies, so bite me)

GILES: 'And on that tragic day, an era came to its inevitable end.' That's all there is. Are you ready?

BUFFY: Hit me.

GILES: Which of the following best expresses the theme of the passage? A) Violence breeds violence, B) All things must end, C)...

BUFFY: 'B'. I'm going with 'B'. We haven't had 'B' in forever.

GILES: (exasperated) This is the SATs, Buffy, not connect-the-dots. Please pay attention. A low score could seriously harm your chances of getting into college.

BUFFY: Gee, thanks. That takes the pressure right off.

GILES: This isn't meant to be easy, you know. It's a rite of passage.

BUFFY: Well, is it too late to join a tribe where they just pierce something or cut something off?

-Band Candy


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass