:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Political stuff I know nothing about, and yet I talk about it anyway. Oi.
2004-07-15 at 2:51 p.m.

Okay. In response to a note I got, I want to clear up some of what I said a few hours ago.

My main beef with this isn't that Bush may want to hold onto the office longer, because as Switchcraft said, the inauguration won't be pushed back, so there really won't be a "hostage situation" going on.

However, I do think that, though there may be validity to the claims, the administration may be trying to, um, how do I say this.... Scare us.

The other thing that bothers me is that Bush spends every waking minute trying to re-assure Americans that we've done the right thing, that America is safer because Saddam is no longer in power, and... then the second John Kerry picks a running mate, "Oh, no, we may be under attack, this could call for a panic."

They either need to stand by the fact that things are fine, peachy, can't get any more peaceful and safe here, and maybe get us killed, or they need to let us know what's going on, keep us informed, and let us know how to protect ourselves.

The thing that bothers me, is it feels (TO ME) that we're being lured into a false sense of security and safety, so that we can be easily manipulated with "maybe" threats.

I want to be aware of what's going on, and I think as a people, we should know how to handle situations. When they get definitive proof, then we should know.

But telling us we're safe as houses and surprising us with some garbled "perhaps" information that could kill a good number of us... that just doesn't fly.

I agree Saddam should be out of power, but I don't like being lied to that the world is safer at the moment. Because clearly, it isn't, even if we're working towards getting it there.

Because I don't know about you, but simply repeating over and over that the world and America are safe safe safe, that's kinda not selling it for me.

Besides, even when we aren't under terrorist attacks, how safe is this planet anymore anyway?

<-Ghost->

P.S. Sorry for the political spin. I obviously don't know what I'm really talking about, so I think I'll stop shooting my mouth off now.

Listening to: Elsewhere-Sarah McLachlan

Quote:GILES: (to himself) The earth is definitely doomed.


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass