:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Patriotic Shmatriotic
2003-07-05 at 1:07 a.m.

I went to a ballgame today... yeah. It was alright. Terribly boring, but it was okay. We had to sit on bleachers which are the number one, doctor-recommended way of cramping your butt.

I couldn't walk for a few minutes after sitting there. Blah. In fact, my butt still kinda hurts. Whoever designed bleachers? Evil. Close to cable companies and dialup internet, but no sock.

And I learned that fans en masse are not only stupid, uncoordinated, and lacking anything that's even close to resembling rhythm, they will also yell "CHARGE" at the end of any five second diddy including a trumpet of some kind. I swear... I just don't get perky, baseball park rituals.


Hmm... I noticed something today. Maybe it was all the people wearing patriotic shirts. Maybe it was all the people wearing and waving flags. Maybe it was the calendar.

But sometime today, between the cheesy American Flag shirts, and the sparkly fireworks, I realized what today was. Or, actually, by my clock it's 1:07 am, which means that I actually realized what yesterday was.

It was Dress Like a Dork Day! And I forgot it!

Actually, it was July 4th. Now, I could put forth an entire entry devoted to how proud I am of America. How I love it's statues. And even it's statutes. And how I love our president, and how wonderfully we've been ruled over the years, and how grateful I am that people died to give me this land...

Yeah. I could do that.

But I'd rather write something true. So, y'know...try someone else's diary. Like, maybe miss ILoveAmerica. I don't know if that's a real diary or not. Somebody go check it out and report back.

But anyway, this day means nothing to me except hot dogs and fireworks. I'm the most unpatriotic person I know... and it doesn't bug me at all. That doesn't mean I didn't care about 9-11. I did. That was a tragedy. I know that. But I couldn't care less about this war, our president, laws, whatever. The news is complete crap to me.

But this is coming from somebody who wants to pack up and move to England when she gets older. I know it's rainy all the time. I know it's cold and dark and cloudy... but I like that. I do. And I don't care if they hate Americans. I hate Americans too.

Okay, not all Americans, because duh, I am one. But I don't like the sense of Americanism. We AREN'T better than anyone else. We're just greedier, meaning we're richer.

Some people who live with little are loads happier than us... and...grrr.

Yeah. I shouldn't make this entry. Ever. I'd get yelled at until patriotic people's faces turned blue.

But I can't help but think how stupid some people look with outfits made entirely out of red white and blue patterns.

Wave your flag, wear your shirt with a flag on it... but don't parade yourself around looking like an idiot who fell into the presses they use to make American flags. Because... though you may look patriotic to yourself... I still think you look like an idiot.

And of course it's my opinion that counts, isn't it?

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass