:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

High School's comin' soon
2003-07-29 at 8:58 p.m.

Well my friends, this is indeed my last week of freedom. Yesterday marked the actual whining period, but I haven't said anything on here about it.

I return to school on Monday, except this time, it's not returning. It's a whole new deal. High School. Ooh scary.

I was terrified at the beginning of summer... I mean, very. I was horrified at the thought of High School. A whole new world, wherein I know nobody, and the entire place seems out to kill me.

Now... it just seems like school. Doing the Summer Reading assignment has kind of put things in perspective.

The assignments were easy as really, really easy pie. And it just helped me realize that it's not that different. The scheduling's different, and they've almost outlawed lockers in public schools, so some things will change. But at the end of the day, it's just school.

It'll have teachers, some fun, some boring. The boring ones will probably teach History and English, and the fun ones will probably teach Science and Math. But it can go either way.

I'd almost kill for a good History teacher. The one I've had for the past three years has been unbearable. She was horrible. Dull as dirt, and just...cruel.

But who knows. I go to Fish Camp (aka, Orientation) on Thursday. I get my schedule then, and I get to meet people, I think.

I have no idea what to think, how to act, but I don't care. I'm gonna go, I'll be personable, and hope I find someone I have something in common with. Perhaps the common dislike of people in large groups. Even better if it's a common cynical dislike of people in large groups.

I'm not going to go dressed in a theme or anything. I'll wear a funny shirt, some jeans, my Converse, and be done with it. I won't fix up my hair. I know they're taking pictures that day, but this is where you have to pause and ask yourself, "Does Rachel really give a crap?" Match point.

I'm not looking for a soulmate or anything. Just a buddy. It's been so long since I've talked to anyone I knew from school... I feel really bad about that.

Actually... I feel worse about the fact that I don't really feel that bad.

Looking back, I only had a little in common with most of my friends. I had a lot more in common with Blake and Scott than any of the rest of them, but still... I think the main reason I had that much in common was just because I forced myself to.

There were only so many molds of people going around that school. Only so many groups. And therefore, there was only so much you had to have in common with someone to be "in".

Now, there's gonna be a different amount of this's and that's, and slight tweaks of likes and dislikes in a group.

In short, there won't be a punch of posing Christian idiots who've never had an original thought. My last school was The International House Of Poseurs. But no big. Because I, sadly, was right with them.

Looking back, I can hardly believe that I said I liked some of this stuff. Maybe I really did like the stuff. I have changed somewhat over the summer.

I have another fear, though. I hear that some of the teachers from Glenview check up on their students after they start High School.

I'm not planning on going all Satanic when I start High School, but I don't exactly plan on being a Bible-thumper while I'm there. Ah well. I won't smoke weed on the first day, and I'll just call it even with them.

I'm still slotted to go back and be a junior high TA for my favoritest teacher on my breaks. So, I'm obviously not completely opposed to going back.

So, anyway... I'm nervous, yeah. I won't deny that much. But I'm not terrified. I'm gonna go, I'll do the schoolwork, and work on picking up a few new friends.

I have no idea how I make friends. I never have. I have no clue how I became such good friends with Blake. I just remember that we clicked.

I don't remember any of my early conversations with any of my friends, but somehow or another, I won them over to my side.

Dunno how, but it does happen. So, hey, I can make a friend. Who cares if I'm fat? I'm cool, dangit. Cool chubby chick on the loose. Look out! Here comes Rachel... the biggest (snerk), baddest, mother...chicken. *ahem*

Anyway... I'm currently resolving NOT to go to the school's website.

Why, you ask? Because they have a friggin' COUNTDOWN. A COUNTDOWN! What kind of evil freaks ARE these people? I don't want to be reminded of how imminent my doom is! I already know who all my base belong to! Why can't they just drop it??

Yeah...that and my principal looks like Principal Flutie. I really hope he gets eaten.

Wait. I take that back. I don't wish that on anyone. It's just...eeeeevil, I tell you. A countdown...yeesh.

So, I go. I go to prepare for my horrible fate. Wish me luck.

<-Ghost->

P.S. Anyone who's been to High School... I'm taking suggestions.


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass