:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Orientation
2003-07-31 at 11:36 a.m.

I went to the High School Orientation today... aka, Fish Camp. It was...interesting, to say the least.

Principal Flutie was the speaker... he blahed for a while about dress code, and how fun this year will be, and the new teachers, and who this and that was... yeah. My butt was cramping and my eyes were heavy by the time we finally got to go anywhere.

But when I first got there, I was a little nervous. I walked in the door, and immediately was made fun of, but hey. It didn't really bug me. Granted, I wanted to either punch or flip off the guy who said something, but I didn't. I just walked on. He wasn't talking directly to me either. If he had been, I would've done something.

But I got my schedule, and it turns out I start the day with English. Every day. Dear god. I don't want to go to school at 7:30 in the morning and start with English. But I forebear.

I saw Alisha (a girl from our church) after I got my schedule, and said hi, but she was sitting with a friend, so I wasn't going to impose or anything. I went and sat down after they stood up, and a few minutes later she tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to come with them.

Turns out she didn't know that many people either, and she's been to a public school around there for a while. She recognized a lot of people, but she didn't actually know them. We talked and sat together, it was fun. We made fun of the cheerleaders, or I and one of her friends did. That was fun.

And then, after they split the groups up, (we got to stick around and hear MORE talking), we had to switch seats. And then I found Keri!

Keri!! Yes! I mean... okay... Keri and I were best friends at my old school for like... third through fifth grade. Then she had to switch schools, and we drifted apart. I've seen her up at the other church every now and then, but still...Keri!

That made TWO people that I knew! And that's two more than I thought I would! I met one of Alisha's friends while we sat together, and I met one of Keri's friends, who I think I might get along with. Emily... she's snarky. I like her. Hee.

And I saw Angel, another girl from church. And I met Chris.

Chris was this guy... who stood behind us in line for our pictures. I heard him go, "I'm gonna make some friends," to some guy, and then he started blurting things out at people.

He walked up to me and said, "Hi! I'm Chris!" And I blinked, nodded with a humouring smile and laughed, "Hi. Rachel." And he grinned and turned around, then turned back and said, "Are we friends?" And I just laughed and shrugged, "Sure."

I liked him too. He was funny. So, yeah... I don't have any best friends going into this, but I do know more people than I thought I would. Blake's ex-girlfriend is even going there. I don't know her that well, but it's still a familiar face, right?

I feel good. I found most of my classes, and the Library. I think I saw our Librarian, and sadly, she is neither British nor male, but oh well. Once again, I forebear.

I think I might actually make it out alive. Yay.

<-Ghost->

P.S. Unless our school's colors (red and gold) are any implication of evilness. Then I might not make it out alive.


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass