:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Long Time No Rant
2003-09-03 at 3:24 p.m.

Holy potatoes!

Okay, I don't know where that came from. But I figured it was way more interesting than anything else I'd come up with for today.

I actually have no homework! What a relief! I mean, there's stuff I could work on, but I'm a complete procastinator... to the point of danger ("Danger! Danger!") but I don't care right now. Because I'm tired, and I don't have anything due tomorrow.


I've been noticing something slightly odd about our school.

We have a ten minute period between first and second period, deemed Central Time, for our use. We can do whatever. Have club meetings (keep in mind that the period used to be 20 minutes long, instead of 10, so clubs are struggling), hang out with our friends, or just finish some homework in class.

Every day of the week, except Wednesdays. Wednesday is the day where we have "Character Lessons."

The school board decided that we should spend our Central Time on Wednesdays in First Period, so that we can have a short lesson on character. What character traits we need, how to draw them, etcetera.

My question? Where do they get off telling US what traits we need to develop?

We used to have societies where religion was pretty much tied into school. You had the freedom not to follow it, but it was still enforced in some ways. I think it probably did some good. Even if they didn't believe in it, kids were still held to the rules of it. And the rules that hold a lot of religions together are NOT HARMFUL to anybody.

Nobody said they had to pray to the same god as everybody else. They just wanted kids to have moral standards.

But they've flat out done away with all of that.

And this is just them saying, "Okay. You don't have to believe in anything. Don't worship, don't follow a doctrine of rules set out for your own good or anything, but hey. Wait. You should follow these traits, and adopt these standards into your life... because, uh... we say so."

It's ridiculous. I see absolutely nothing that says I should listen to the drivel they're giving out during these lessons. Sure, they SAY I should be responsible, and be a good sport, and be honest, but y'know... and yes, they are good basics of life. People do need these skills to succeed, most of the time.

But how is teaching these things to kids different than putting into practice rules from the Bible?

They're teaching the SAME LAWS, but they're just calling it a "Character Study" instead of a "Bible Lesson," or anything of the sort.

Grr. Sorry, that's just been festering in me for a while. Every Wednesday I just sit through it, wondering why this is okay. Why can they get away with this?

Christianity isn't poisonous. It won't "infect" you unless you let it. You can follow the rules and live a decent life without praying once to God. It'll be kind of empty, at least I believe this, but it can happen.

But for parents to be worried that their children will become infused with this religion that they don't believe in, and then to have it removed completely, just makes things worse than they were.

I have no respect for school systems anymore. It's gonna make this school year very hard to get through.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass