:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

"Life is peculiar," said Grandmama.
2004-05-27 at 7:20 p.m.

Oh, where did that Saturday go? Oh well, it was spent well, I'll tell you that.

There's a new addition to the family. Some of you may call my mother insane, which, to be fair, she can be sometimes. I'm certainly not complaining.

I love Chloe.

Who's Chloe? Chloe is dark, shiny blue 2001 Ford Focus sitting out by our house, that, well, it doesn't have my name on it, but it's mine.

Mom went on a car buying panic. I don't know why. But she decided that this car would be perfect, and we checked it out, and by golly, it was.

It's got no CD player. It has manual locks and windows (gasp), and one of the air vents doesn't turn right, but it's a good little car. I love her.

Plus, it has this added bonus of having a little pull-tab in the trunk that is glow-in-the-dark and has a diagram of a man happily hopping/running out of the trunk. We suppose it's so A) If I fall in and the door closes on me, I can get out, and B) I can't do any kidnapping.

Which, both, I suppose, are good. But how many times have people fallen into their trunks and gotten locked in there?

Oh well. I suppose that one person has no excuse now.


Today, however, we went to go see my great-grandmother down at the grandparents' house. She's doing better. Still delusional in her spare time, but...

She's ready to go, she says. And I can't particularly blame her. She'll be 94 tomorrow, outliving every person in our family tree that we've been able to trace back. And she's lost her independence.

My great-grandmama is one of the strongest women I've ever known. She's taken care of herself out in the middle of nowhere for God knows how long, and now that she's trapped in a nursing home, having people help her out of her bed every morning... it's breaking not only her heart, but her as well.

She feels horrible there. She can never go home, though. And she knows it. So I guess now she wants to go to that big, capitalized Home.

She says she'll be ready when her Lord calls her.

I love my Grandmama to death, but I understand. It'll be said whenever it does happen, but at least then she'll be able to walk for more than 40 feet, she'll have both hips, and she'll be happy again.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass