:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

We suck. Really.
2003-07-15 at 9:40 p.m.

Mmm... I've discovered something that I've actually known for a really long time. So, uh, I guess that would count as re-discovering it. Either way...

This is a semi-continuation of a rant I had a while back. Click here to see it... It was a while ago...y'know, back when my writing was good and interesting. But I do what I can.

Anyway, it was all about how stupid my generation is. And apparently, we're only getting stupider. Evolution schmevolution. If the world was designed so that only the fittest survive, what the heck are we doing still, um, y'know...surviving?

I was listening to the radio today *insert big shocked gasp here* and heard the Boys of Summer (again, stupid radio), a cover by the Ataris.

And it finally struck me. Back when the songs our parents listen to were popular, the lyrics rocked. I mean, really. If you were young, you could sing along and just take it all at face value. But as you grew and went back and listened to your old classics, you suddenly realized what that song REALLY meant, and then pointed it out and got "duh" looks from all your "cool" friends who had already figured it out.

I'd wager. At least that's what I do, but I was raised with a very wide musical taste in the house.

And that's part of the fun. Deciphering what some of those lyrics really do mean. It's what makes a song worth listening to. And the people in bands back then actually knew how to do cool stuff on guitars that didn't sound like anybody else's stuff.

Now, most of the bands all sound the same. I admit it. And it sucks. But what can I do about it?

Back to my original point: We've lost all tact. We have become, pardon my Buffy, the Cordelias of the world. In our songs? We don't have that way of wording things that seems innocent until you really listen.

Compare and contrast:

I never will forget those nights

I wonder if it was a dream

Remember how you made me crazy?

Remember how I made you scream

(Don Henley (sp?), Boys of Summer)

And:

Well, okay, I'm better off not printing the lyrics to some that just came to mind. But examples:

Closer-Nine Inch Nails

F her Gently-Tenacious D

Hey Pretty (Drive By 2001 Mix)-Poe

Anything by the Beastie Boys

Most anything by Blink 182 as well

Any rap. Ever.

Okay, here's an example:

DJ's spinning (show your hands)

Let's get dirrty (that's my jam)

I need that, uh, to get me off

Sweat'n til my clothes come off

(Dirrty-Christina Aquilera)

Um, okay. Nobody needs to give you a "duh" look and explain things to you when you listen to these songs.

Subtlety is a thing of the past, I'm afraid. But, um... what's the point of listening to the music if there's no thinking involved?

Music ISN'T the layman's art. It should be a beautiful thing. Yes, I do include rock music to be beautiful. There SHOULD be a lot of care that goes into this. I'm not saying you need to paint a portrait about it or anything, but... write in your diary what you need to get off.

Write a song about how you feel after writing in your diary. There's a difference.

The world of music shouldn't be an artist's diary. If they are revealing something close to them in their song, make it subtle. Make it something that a listener has to pry to understand. Because only when they must struggle and try to understand what you mean...only then can there really be a connection between the artist and the listener.

Music has been abused for too long. Some artists are recapturing the beauty of it. Coldplay. I love Coldplay. I worship (almost) Coldplay for this... uniqueness they have brought with them.

There are bands worth listening to out there. I'm only saying that the majority of them... should pack up their stuff and leave us the heck alone.

I apologize if you like that style of music. Actually. No, I don't. I don't apologize at all. We have different tastes. I personally think that music is hardly a taste at all. I'm sure we can get along just fine otherwise, but I'm not going to apologize for offending you. (This paragraph editted because, YIKES that sounded mean before)

That being said... I'm hoping I don't get really bad emails. Like anyone who doesn't agree with me would actually read this, heh. (Sarcasm, I know people read this that don't agree with me... hi you, hee.)

Anyway... yeah. I long to be a child of them cool years. Like, 60's. The 60's look cool. And I'd make a killer hippie.

Peace out,
<-Ghostie>

Songs: Morning's a Peach-Anya Marina

Think Twice-Eve6

Antique High Heel Red Doll Shoes-Rasputina


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass