:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Karaoke is the hardest part
2005-03-21 at 12:50 p.m.

My head is killing me. Like, really. Ow. I think I have a brain tumor. I get headaches a lot, and they're never any fun.


I made pancakes this morning. I've discovered that the art of making pancakes is, well, something that almost eludes me. However, I think I did very well for only my second attempt EVER, and I think I'll get it closer to right next time.

It's like one o' clock and I'm still really not hungry. That's odd.


I don't know what Wrigleys (Tm) is doing to their gum, but it's really starting to annoy me.

First, they packaged almost all of their gums in that stupid foil/pill-looking stuff, so that all of the sugary coating on the outside is gone. I tried the Winterfresh like that, and it was disgusting. Blechy.

And now Orbit is all... it's just not the same.

It's depressing. I'm a gum fan, and when they change it all up on me like this, I just... I can't take it!


I'm bored. I suppose I could karaoke. Mom bought a karaoke machine in order to prep me for Convention III, but I'm shaky. I need to pick out a few songs, just in case whoever's running the thing doesn't have the songs that I know well.

I'm a horrible karaoke-er.

It's not even just the intense set of nerves I get. The shaking and the crying afterwards is just part of what happens when I have to do karaoke, and I don't like it, but singing and being heard can be nice.

No, the problem is karaoke music. There's always a lot of country music, and a lot of pop music. I don't listen to pop music. The music I listen to is rock, classic rock, indie rock, and...well, some pop-rock, but only when it comes to like Michelle Branch or Jason Mraz.

Now: The majority of rockers are male. Karaoke music is lowered into a key where the majority of the people who pick a certain song will be able to sing it. Which means that 90% of the songs I know are lowered into a styling where I can't sing it.

8%-ish of songs I do know and can sing, I'm embarrassed to know and refuse to sing.

That leaves, um, Michelle Branch. And Sarah McLachlan, IF they have a song of hers that is actually doable. I swear to God, I think I saw Fear on one karaoke list. Who can sing that!?

And I will not learn pop songs just to bump and grind and look "cool" on stage. I'm a fat chick who is proud of not being a girly girl and I will not lower my standards just to be heard singing.

Goodbye To You is becoming my main karaoke song, just because most folks have it. That or All You Wanted.

I guess I should go practice. Wah.


I'm gonna go read or write or sing or something. I'll do something creative.

Or, y'know, sleep.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass