:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Court day
2005-04-28 at 4:53 p.m.

Is it just me, or is the guy from the Geico commercials with the "3 percent to please" plotlines doing Netflix commercials now?

That's strange, but kind of fitting I suppose. He's saving us from car insurance rates, but also keeping us from putting our car in danger to start with by telling us to save money on late fees and gas by ordering Netflix.

Anyway.


So court was interesting. I didn't get ALL dressed up like a few kids did (you could totally tell their mom dressed them. Totally.), but I did wear a nice shirt, and I was very polite and all that jazz.

There was one kid there, though, whose ticket wasn't there when they tried to check in. Why wasn't it there? Well, we figured out in a few minutes that it wasn't there because some lady in the office was still WORKING ON ALL OF THEM.

Said kid went first. He was 17 years old. He had 15 tickets, most of which for not going to school. He joined a school in February, and had missed 40 days already. 15 tickets.

Mom and I guessed that the kid was big trouble, just by the way he was dressed. Yes, that is stereotypical, but he's one of the reasons why there ARE stereotypes. He was white, with about four piercings total in his ears, large diamond-like studs in all of them making his ears look like a diamond mine, only uglier. His (blonde) hair was buzzed short, and he had a little tuft of hair on his chin.

His shirt(s) were about double the size my dad wears, blue over red, and the red was even longer than the blue so that it layered really well. Only not. His pants were about the size needed for a really really fat 7 year old, and they were hanging down around his thighs, I was guessing, but his shirt kept me from really being able to tell, and I was glad for it. His shoes were too big, and his jeans sagged around his ankles, except one was bunched up so that his really really white skin was showing in a really really stupid way.

It was pathetic, and his mom was obviously no help in his situation. When he was called to the stand, she immediately started jumping all over the case. She was dressed plainly and had two wrist braces on, for reasons I'm unsure of. But as the judge began to get suspicious and tired of their excuses, the boy started getting mouthy and she started yelling at him to stop talking.

The school he "goes" to had a lawyer or representative there, and he explained all of it loud enough for all of us to hear, which I appreciated.

So, anyway. $150 a ticket. 15 tickets. No way they could pay that. The boy was sent over to sit on the sidelines, under custody of the city of Hurst until he paid off all his tickets.

PLUS, his mom, it was discovered, had outstanding warrants on her for tickets she never took care of. And while she was at court today, she wasn't appearing for those tickets, just her son's.

That was... interesting. The kid went to jail, and his mom went off to ... do something, I don't know. It was kind of unsettling, though. I'm going to just start off telling people these stories by saying that the first kid just went to jail.

Let them come up with their own reasons why. Hurst is serious about their speeding tickets.

My ticket ended up costing $140, but we asked for deferred abjudication, so I gotta stay clean for 90 days. No more following Brandi for me. Not that I was planning on it.

Mom wouldn't even let me pay half or part of the ticket. She just handled it. I offered to buy breakfast too, but she wouldn't do it. Makes me feel useless.


I have to study for my AP test, make two moles, and make a Spanish brochure. I'm going to get started on one of those things now. Adios!

<-Ghost->

P.S. GO HERE


1 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass