:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Cheers Queers
2004-05-26 at 8:37 p.m.

Ahhhh.... I'm done with my final full day. And pretty much my Final full day.

I did fine on my Health Final, and I'm hoping to God I did fine on the Geometry one today. I felt like I knew what I was talking about. That's good, right?

But then she pulled out the notecards thing... I can't take this. I don't want a B. I don't. I really, really don't.

I'll survive if I get one, but man!

There's supposedly a 10 point uppance for us Pre-AP folks, and it goes onto our GPA, but apparently it doesn't mean anything. Colleges will look at the score before they add the points.

So why do they tease us with that? I have no idea.

I feel pretty good about it, but gaaaaah.

On the other hand, I am making it out of Biology with a 94.

The hardest teacher ever's class. 94. I feel very, very good about that, even if there is something wrong with his whole grading system.

For doing all that work on the Objectives and Pathogens (110 and 95, baby!), it actually lowered my grade at first.

I had a 91. Add in a 110 and a 95... both higher than 91, but each counting for around 50-ish daily grades, rather than tests... I still don't get why it lowered my grade to an 89.8 at first.

But it turns out he also lost two take home tests that I had to suffer to get copies of so I could turn them in, thanks to their getting lost in packing, and he put 0's there.

When he couldn't find them, he decided he liked me, 'cause I do work and stuff in his class, so he filled in the blanks with "NA"s instead of 0's. It just kind of made them moot grades.

And now I'm at a 94, and no matter what I make on this AP Biology exam, I'm not going any lower than that.

And I don't think I'd score enough to raise it, but it's worth a shot. I can live with a 94, though.

And in Health, my grade going into the exam was a 99. Duh... I think I can live with that too. I have a BCIS final too.

I actually have to study for that, which I will do here in a second, but man. I feel pretty good.

Stupid Geometry class, though.

It's going to throw off my perfect 4.0 for the whole danged ever. Wow I sound whiny.

Hee.

Mom's just on my case because she expects me to be valedictorian. I can't do that. I mean, I have the mental capacity too, sure...

But my learning style doesn't...allow for that. When I'm doing things I enjoy, like science and english, I'm fine. I make great grades.

And when I have teachers that present information in a new or interesting way... I also do well.

But when it's left to me to develop an interest in a subject that I've never cared for, such as math or history... I can't do it.

I enjoy taking in information about things I enjoy. I know I can take in facts and regurgitate them (I'm great at essays), but I never feel the spark of learning when it comes to some things.

Yes, I am aware I'm a total nerd. And I don't care. This is about me, so *sticks out tongue*

But I do feel a spark, a click, a something when I like and understand something.

I'm a bright person... and I have the ability to be number 1... but I don't flog myself to strive for it...

Because I'm also a lazy, funny person, and I like friends. You don't get many friends when you're too busy doing objectives to ever talk, or you're too busy doing quadratic equations to care.

I don't want to be like that. Mom would prefer I am... but I'm pretty sure that I can make great grades and pass high school with no problem, and hold on to meaningful friendships.

I'm the kind of person... that needs a firm social group that I can be comfortable with... not a large one...heck, one constant person to be there for me. I can't support myself. I'm independent in doing work, but I'm so dependent when it comes to my emotions.

I'm getting a little better. More confident, I suppose... but... I need the love.

I do plan to go to a good college. And I think I have what it takes to get into one. And I think I will be able to get into a great college. I'm not a complete idiot.

Being valedictorian would be nice... but I'm not even in the Top 10. I wasn't even when I was in my first semester, with like, 98's, 99's, one 97 and another 99.

I strive to a point. But I'm not about to get pulled into this academic competition.

Mostly because a good majority of the people in it, are people I never want to become.

Sigh.

I hate end of the year theorizing and speculation... I get all introspective.

I've made good grades... I've made good friends... and I had an overall good time.

Here's to the first year.

And here's to not having The Bio. Teacher next year.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass