:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Tired of the Taliban
2004-09-23 at 4:32 p.m.

Oh dear, it's been like a week since my last entry. I do apologize for the lack of updatiness.

Today is kind of a landmark day for me. I'm wearing my Sgt. Pepper shirt ('tis blue and stripy, and kind of gay-boi, and it looks nice, so shush), and I'm wearing makeup.

Yes, go back, read that again. That's me. Makeup.

I went to a Mary Kay party Sunday, and... I had fun. Spooky. It was with some really cool ladies from church, though, so no wonder.

Anyway, mom and I bought some stuff, and... I don't feel half bad wearing it. I'd show you how I look, but I have P.E. fourth period, so, my eyeshadow's kind of blechy and my hair is a mess, and I look like crap.

I need to shower, but I'm tired. I'll take one before I go to bed, of course.

But it felt nice today. I got complimented twice on my shirt, and I was told that I looked good twice. One person said both, and the other two instances were separate. So... I dunno, it feels good to have my ego inflated.

Especially after a huge, vague essay test in English. Ugh. At least we got to use the book, and... um... well, the book.

The actual TEST, which was taken yesterday, was easy as cake, and a piece of pie. That was a great relief.

We're also reading a new book in English... we actually started before we finished Julius Caesar. My Forbidden Face, is the title... it's one of those "Taliban bad, Islam good" books, that, y'know, I'm kind of getting sick of.

The book is fine. It's a great portrait of how evil the Taliban is. Kidnapping little girls to wed them to their soldiers, raping girls, mutilating their genitals, along with boys too, forcing girls to stay inside...

I. Get. It. The Taliban is bad for women, but Islam is a good, peaceful religion, and they're interpreting it badly. That's not sarcasm, that's truly how it goes. And I understand.

But I wish people would stop beating me over the head with it. Saddam Hussein is evil, the Taliban is evil, terrorists are evil, but Islam is good... fine, whatever. I don't agree with Islam, because I'm a Christian, but I understand that the religion itself is not the source of their problem.

I'm just...tired of it.

Plus, the book is boring in some places. All about the locations in the Middle East, and the names of certain rulers who were in Afghanistan such-and-such years ago...

Oi.

I am so tired. Seriously. I think I'm going to go lay down. Nobody is online anyway.

I'll talk to you all later.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass