:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

MY music.
2004-09-12 at 5:17 p.m.

I know I've ranted before about how music today sucks, but I don't understand what is going on.

Things are getting worse. The evidence? Good Charlotte has put out another single. And it actually sucks more than they used to.

He actually talks to someone on the phone, well, screams at them actually, but... in the middle of the song. And it's not even in time with the music. It's just him shouting random, stupid, hopeless, "empty inside" nonsense that they're so good at spewing.

But maybe things are getting better. I mean, not for Good Charlotte, Simple Plan, Sum 41, Blink 182, Green Day, blah blah Taking Back Finches on Thursday, but maybe in general.

I apologize. I like Thursday. But still.

Punk is trying to take over the radio these days, and it's not even punky. It's just... crappy. I suppose a certain amount of crap is necessary to be considered "punk," but this isn't cool crap. It's "appeal to the masses, and please like me, because I'm cool and can't sing, and only know 3 chords and my hair is either gone or really really tall and multicolored."

And I don't want any messages telling me that Benji is hott and coolerz and that he's the cutest sk8er boi you've ever seen.

'cause...ew.

Anyway, there are a few bands that have come out that... okay, while they aren't exactly my favorite bands ever, and some don't have much talent at all, they are different.

Modest Mouse: I don't really LIKE Float On, but the sound is definitely different than most of the music on your normal, rock/hits radio station.

Franz Ferdinand: Wheeee! I like these guys. And their name is cool. Something about somebody who was assassinated that led to WWII, but still, Franz is a great name. And Take Me Out makes me want to rock out. I don't know why, it's not great, but it's a cool song.

The Killers: Musically, not too much different, but they are different enough. The guy's voice makes me happy. The lead singer kind of resembles Peter Paige, if he had some strange lovechild with the Smallville guy. I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing. I think it's good. But I still hate that guy from Smallville. And Somebody Told Me is catchy, without being so catchy that it's annoying.

And, of course, I have a whole list of people that I love that few people have ever heard of.

Shall I list them? Why not? I have nothing else to talk about.

Keri Noble-piano chick with a cool voice

Turin Brakes- two guys with guitars. Maybe some drums, but mmm. Indie rock.

Teitur- Indie rock, as well

Microbunny- the band of the invisible song. Nice voice, and seriously funny stuff.

Nerf Herder- Mmmmmmmmmmm. Buffy theme, what can I say? Besides really frickin' hilarious.

Butterfly Boucher- Chick rock that was around with Sarah McLachlan. That makes her cool by reputation. Hee.


And some more common ones: Poe, Garbage, Sarah McLachlan, Dave Matthews Band, Queen, Aimee Mann, Tori Amos, Alanis Morisette, The Doors, The Who, Train, Barenaked Ladies, Tom Petty, Tom Waits, They Might Be Giants...

Okay, this could go on for years.

I like what I like. And I don't like what most radio stations seem to like.

But. There's a newcomer to DFW radio. Jack FM. 100.3. And they play everything. 70's to 90's to now without the cheese and pretenses of MixFM.

Wow. I can't believe my online radio just played Tom Petty's "The Last DJ."

"There goes the last DJ / who plays what he wants to play." Hee.

That's just freaky deaky, dudes and dudettes.

And with that, I leave you.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass