:NAVIGATION:
Patrolling
Dusted

:BONUS:
The Me-File
Claddaghs
Facts
Quizzy
Photo Albums

:CONTACT:
Beep Me
Pass It On
GhostBook

:FIREFLY:
Another Serenity Review
Test Screening-Early Reviews
FoxForums
FireFlyFans.net
Serenity: The Official Movie Website


:THANKS:
Couture
Lorne
IdiotReviews

bite back // scratch away

Shopping can be...fun?
2005-08-13 at 10:07 a.m.

Oi.

Last night was rough.

This was the same friend that I went to study Chemistry with (alongside her friend and her boyfriend), and... it's hard to see people in situations like this.

She's a very sweet girl. But listening to her talk about her past and her current situation, she's very susceptible to abusive scenarios with freakjobs who can't let go. So I'm worried about this situation.

Her "normal" boyfriend turned out to be a complete control freak, going so far as to tell her where to be and when, and who she could talk to, and banning her from taking her cell phone into his house (which he also demanded she be at every waking minute of the day).

Yeah. Not fun.

But on the bright side, apparently she met this really sweet, romantic, outgoing guy in Virginia over the summer that we spent a good portion of the night talking to. It was obvious how happy he made her, so... I'm glad she has that to fall back on, but it's also obvious just how terrified she is of starting a relationship again.

Because of her past. Let's see, she's had the stalker who threatened to kill her many, many times and who evaded the police for way too long. The abusive jerk who would leave welts across her entire thigh whenever she said no... this guy who's putting her through an emotional hell. He's more of the psychologically abusive type, but I...

This opened my eyes. To a lot.

The way she carries herself invites her to be used like this. And so does the way I carry myself. There's no real changing that, but I'm much more aware of it now. And... I want to change. I want to be different, because I don't ever want to be in that situation.

What I have with Teh Canadian, I'm not worried about. We talk, we're open, and plus, there's not really much he could make me do from across the globe. But even if he was here... it's not in the least bit like this guy.

One of the main problems was that she liked to get out of the house and do stuff, and he liked to stay at home and watch movies.

Teh Canadian and I really agree on that measure. And pretty much all other measures ever. So, yeah. But still.

That was incredibly... it made me feel very helpless. Because there wasn't much more I could do for her than to just be there and listen. Which is what I'm good at, but I wanted to do more.

Oh, but we may pick up kickboxing together. I don't know what I've signed myself up for, but... hey, if it helps her and is good for me, then pffft. We'll see how that goes.

*nervous*


I totally just got the coolest idea for what I'm going to do for Teh Canadian for his birthday. I've been pondering for a while, and yeah, there are things that I could just order online and have shipped off to him or something. But... that's boring!

I want to do somethin' special. So... I am. But I'm not gonna say what it is here, 'cause, you never know if he's being all sneaky and reading my secret most innermost private thoughts here.

So, hee. Anyway. I need to go shower and go shopping.

I'm excited to go shopping. What is wrong with me? Well, it's all like, cheap stuffs that I'm gonna go get, so... it'll be fun! And it ain't clothes, so that's even better.

See you guys.

<-Ghost->


0 bloodsucking fiends have nibbled.


bite back // scratch away

:SOUNDTRACK:
Nerf Herder
Scissor Sisters
John Mayer
Radiohead
Mars Volta

:I READ:
linzmat
alesay
edrodonwaldo
musicman6724
miss-edith
weetabix
invernal
jestersblood
quillz
imaginated
spacemuppet
downforever
lv2write00
golfwidow
splorch
spritopias
demons-r-us
chadin
what---if
ghanima
taydo
cornflake1
damnedguitar
oddgoogle
augustdreams
brucedowns
jesbohn
switchcraft
gettingnaked
fan4
orange2o
amomsmusings
lifeasme66
beckers-j
megmarch
buffylass